telltale

I have you
in the night-time porcelain
fingerprints on the basin,
in the handwritten
shopping list I can’t
seem to throw away,
I have you
in the reflection
of the tv screen, beneath
the fan, making no sounds
no movements
and barely blinking, I have you
in the bookcase
scattered
with mysteries & thrillers
or the telltale coffee cups
littering
the kitchen bench,
I have you

I have you

in the night-time porcelain

fingerprints on the basin,

in the handwritten

shopping list I can’t

seem to throw away,

I have you

in the reflection

of the tv screen, beneath

the fan, making no sounds

no movements

and barely blinking, I have you

in the bookcase

scattered

with mysteries & thrillers

or the telltale coffee

cups littering

the kitchen bench,

I have you

10 thoughts on “telltale

  1. Great poem! I enjoyed the sudden and surprising ending that came about.

    One thing I wanted to ask you is how you get your poems to appear in single-line spacing? Whenever I seem to post poetry the line spacing is always double, hopefully you’ll be able to help me 😉

    • Thank you, philosopherpoet! Glad it was a nice surprise, I was hoping it would work with a sharp ending.

      Absolutely, I can help. I’d found the same thing when I pasted something from Word. To get around it, I pasted the poem from Word into the Notepad programme (if you use mac there should be an equivilant?) and then paste from Notepad to wordpress and it stays single spaced!

      I think because Notepad is a simple programme it cannot support too much in the way of formatting and thus the problem is solved (for me at least, hopefully it works for you too!)

      Ashley

Leave a Reply

