‘Shorn’ at Vibewire

‘Shorn’ is one of my new poems and I’m happy to report that it’s just been published at Vibewire, it’s also got a little ‘author’s thought about the poem’ if you click my name on the site, which I enjoyed writing.

Here’s the poem – shorn.

Two more of my poems, ‘down from the sky’ and ‘cadair idris’ will be forthcoming at Vibewire in the coming week, also with their own ‘notes from the author.’

Actually, while I have you reading (if you still are) I’d love to ask what you think about author’s notes, whether you find them interesting? Intrusive? Bit of a distraction? Useful?

To expand what I mean by author’s notes, here’s a great poem, ‘Wog wedding‘ by Koraly Dimitriadis, that uses one kind of author’s note very well, enriching the poem for me. But it is different to an ‘author’s explanation about the meaning of the poem’ which I have tried not to do too much with my notes for Vibewire, instead trying to go for explanations of how a piece met the anthology’s theme, ‘Back to Basics’

Love to hear what you think!

8 thoughts on “‘Shorn’ at Vibewire

  1. Great poem, (love the Pink-from-the-Wall insanity) and the author’s notes enhance the words.
    As far as author’s notes in general, I like them as they can give the author’s perspective, however, the author isn’t always right. There was a poet (I forget who) who said that a poem is only ever half finished and it is up to the reader to complete it, therefore the author’s notes offer a background to the piece and may aid an interpretation but likewise, I love getting comments on my work that make me reassess the poem and I recall you saying the same regarding reviews.
    Anyway, great poem, loved the background (back to basics and the removal of superfluity) and liked my interpretation of ‘making decisions without a need for reason’.

    • Thanks, Mark! I like that quote, the reader finishing the poem, puts our role as author into the role of co-creator doesn’t it? Which is nice, takes the pressure off. (ie: it isn’t my fault if someone doesn’t like a poem, they read it wrong!) No, that’s a bit Oscar Wilde-ish there, and I’m not that clever by any means.

      But I’m glad you liked the background too, as I didn’t want it to be too prescriptive

  2. I like the poem. It’s slightly petulant, aware of it’s words. I don’t mind authors notes as long as it’s not an interpretation of their own work. It’s interesting to know how the poem came and what it means to the author.

    • Hey kolembo! Great to hear, and I think you’re right, there is a little bit of petulance in there. I agree, as I think if an author explains away the meaning of a piece, it can really remove the reader and even allow that flawed beast, autobiographical criticism to creep in.

  3. I am glad you told us to click on your name – never would have done otherwise. I read your author note as an explanation, but I don’t mind that at all – as long as we can have a different interpretation (and of course we all will). I really like the poem and read it as an observation on the constant need humans have to stereotype and make judgements based on appearances – I have been thinking a lot about that issue lately and though it is annoying, often we are closer to the truth than we realise. Congrats too 🙂

    • Hi Gabrielle, thank you! Cool, can you tell me more? Like, does it read as an explanation of the meaning, or did you see it as an explanation of circumstances surrounding composition/source of inspiration?

      Coz I’d hate to have stamped too strong a version of ‘what it is about’ onto it. And I like your interpretation, kind of a timeless theme, isn’t it? The snap-judgment – quite often way wide of the mark, huh? And I’ve seen so many teachers do it when they tell me, ‘watch out for so and so, he is really…. if you’re teaching him/her do this/that because he/she is….’ etc

Leave a Reply

