nodes

bamboo grew in our backyard
somehow
or I imagined it,
supple unforgiving
reliable, behind the shed
next to the pine
that towered over rusted
tools and number plates

maybe I remember bamboo or something like it
at school
could have been in a book at home,
or one that I borrowed

somewhere I tried to break it
with a child’s hands
and insane, destructive curiosity

I wondered
how pandas could eat bamboo

it was probably in a movie
or a reed at the river, where we leapt
from stone towers like
infant gods
testing, stupid, happy
in summer, future-less
and unconcerned

or maybe, most likely it was
just wicker curled into a washing basket
on mum’s back step

13 thoughts on “nodes

  1. “where we leapt
    from stone towers like
    infant gods
    testing, stupid, happy
    in summer, future-less
    and unconcerned”
    These lines brought a flood of memories rushing back, these are the sort of lines that make me want to be a better poet. Absolutely brilliant.

  2. “I wondered
    how pandas could eat bamboo”

    “Infant Gods” – so great (and can be a great book title too)

    Fabulous. It seems to be so long since I have read you. And what a great return is that.
    Bravo

  3. Perhaps it is because of my current sojourn into individual & couple’s therapy that I perceive more than what is.
    As I ponder the nodes splitting off in other what ifs, I am driven to think of Moses and what if here, he has the use of a “couch” as he ponders his childhood & his fate.
    Loved how the bamboo becomes diminished yet still lingers on…nodes thanks to God our childhood innocence is lost and found.

    • Hi Betty! Good to see you again. Wow, it sounds like the poem has really resonated, thank you! And its great to see a response that gives the poem a totally fresh meaning for me, cool, thank you.

      Hope the therapy is going well, it must be hard work

Leave a Reply

