Reading at Ross House – Jane Williams Launch

I’ll be reading from ‘Stepping Over Seasons’ at Ross House on Flinders Lane in Melbourne this Saturday afternoon (23rd July) and would love to see you there if you can come. My publisher, IP, has just released a fantastic book by one of my favourite Australian poets – Jane Williams.

Details about the event here

And City of Possibilities Jane’s newest collection here, well worth a look!

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

.

..

.

.

.

Here’s a sample poem from the collection; ‘The art of being right’ which previously appeared in Page Seventeen Issue 8.

.

The art of being right

there’s a block between the pub just closed
and the one still open a good hour left of
drinking if he walks ahead which he has to
because she can’t keep up in those heels
those tears unpredictable as backyard fireworks
shouting the third degree (something about why
can’t they just have a quiet drink at home)
raising his own voice now but only because
of growing distance patiently repeating himself
as if to a small but gifted child I told you
spacing words like footsteps through a dummy
minefield I just needed a spew temporal conditional
and as happy endings go more tragic than trite
so I had a spew and now I’m right

4 thoughts on “Reading at Ross House – Jane Williams Launch

    • Hopefully some photos or maybe video, Dhyan, I’m looking in to it, will definitely let you know.

      Doesn’t it! Jane is a fantastic poet. I remember when I read that poem for the first time, I just thought, yep. This one needs to go into p17.

Leave a Reply

