Third Australian Haiku Anthology

pw_banner_bgOne of Australia’s best known haiku publications, paper wasp is a quarterly out of Queensland, Australia, and one which is open to submissions worldwide.

They’ve always published great haiku (and related forms) from not only Australia’s best-known haiku poets but newer writers too, and I’ve been lucky enough to join all of those writers in the Third Australian Haiku Anthology (Eds Jacqui Murray & Katherine Samuelowicz.)

Five of my verses appeared in the collection, two of which I’ve reproduced below:

thirdhaiku

a splash of yellow
standing
against the firestorm

.
autumn moon
groan as feet
hit cold tiles

.

.
But I mostly wanted to share some other favourites from within, and urge haiku writers to submit your work, and in addition, if you’re not already, and you can, to support the publication.

There’s a great range of voices throughout, along with a real reflection of Australian elements that aren’t always readily observable – but then, that’s what I’m looking for in my poetry as a reader, the chance to stop and see something again!

This anthology, and haiku itself, always helps me with that.

Here are just some of my many favourites:

.
bush track
first rain drops roll
dust into balls

Janice M. Bostok

.
.
strutting magpie
opening and closing
the supermarket doors

Belinda Broughton

.
.
rising from prayer
i find myself
in tourist photographs

Ross Clark

.
a squabble of rosellas
unzips
the clouds

Anne Elvey

.
distant thunder
the future
in my bones

Lorin Ford

.
autumn wind
chasing my old hat
old me

Peter Macrow

.

.
Letting my tongue
deeper into
the strawberry sundae

Graham Nunn

.
$5 phone card –
the things
I forgot to say

Vuong Pham

.
winter solstice
the barbed wire fence
furry with frost

Cynthia Rowe

.
mosquito
a stranger’s blood
on my hand

Quendryth Young

2 thoughts on “Third Australian Haiku Anthology

Leave a Reply

