Cut-up Results (and mini competition)

Here a while back I mentioned a great idea Tess Grantham turned me on to – where you randomly select words from books as a way to challenge yourself in starting a story.

So, here, in order, are the references and words:

pg171, line 21, word 8
Crowed
pg233, line 1, word 6
Want
pg121, line 16, word 3
Nervous
pg43, line 12, word 8
Horizon

Later on I’ll post the results of my brainstorm, but in the meantime, if anyone thinks they can be first to discover all 4 books these words are drawn from, and post the answer in the comments here, I’ll send them a copy of my latest poetry collection between giants!)

2013-08-11 15.46.08 2013-08-11 15.44.23 2013-08-11 15.42.51 2013-08-11 15.40.35And to see how Tess does the exercise (properly I might add!) have a look here. Fascinating to see her take the words and roll them into lines, ideas and possibilities!

5 thoughts on “Cut-up Results (and mini competition)

  1. book 1: Across the Nightingale Floor
    2: The Color Purple
    3: Royal Assassin
    4. A Beginner’s Guide to Dying in India

    I think so.
    but I already have got the book and think it is wonderful. the challenge was fun enough.

    This last book has interesting name. is it good?

    • :d
      O, we don’t need to figure anything out. I was google cheating of course, I would have never find out all books. I wonder how many people on this plant would have solve this.
      Do you think you would?

      It’s been again too long since I have set foot on the great subcontinent, it is true thought somehow to be really dying over there somehow. In the good way of it 😉 I will think of the book next time I manage to go again.

  2. another amazing product of modern life – recognizing books you have never even heard of.

    I have last been about a year and an half ago. Too long if you ask me but life doesn’t allow me to go so often any more. Perhaps also for good but I would be happy to have 2 month at least every 2 years. that would have been a god deal

Leave a Reply

