Travel: Alain de Botton Quote

After reading Jeff Suwak’s great post on travel, I thought I’d share a quote from one of the books he mentions. It’s The Art of Travel by Alain de Botton and I really enjoyed it. (A lot of my poetry in the last couple of years has been focused on travel, and writing has been a fantastic way to relive the experiences.)

So, on to the quote. Below, de Botton discusses the idea of ‘receptivity’ whereby the

“pleasure we derive from a journey may be dependent more on the mindset with which we travel than the destination we travel toand such receptivity then allows the traveller to “approach new places with humility. We carry with us non-rigid ideas about what is or is not interesting” (2002, p246)

And that last bit is what was pretty exciting to me as a reader, traveller and writer.

It’s my hope that whenever I can escape a preconception, I end up getting a much better chance of writing (about) something memorable and authentic.

So, what’s been your best travel experience?

sitebackground

Leave a Reply

