a table set for thousands #4

there used to be poetry in my neighbours

the kind
that wasn’t meant for me
but could nonetheless leap fences
in a single bound

all struggle used to be poetic too
but now
I wonder if it isn’t merely
precursor to defeat

I see it in every pen stroke
and every crossing guard,
even the cobwebs now
seem tired
as the wind cuts into them

in place of the old shop that used to sell
music
there’s another $2 store

and I have to wonder if I’m interested
in that sort of future

because it has such slippery fins
you know

and

I still want to make poetry
that brings you mercy

and so how impossible for me now

to find satisfaction
in my own words
knowing that they heal
nothing.

2 thoughts on “a table set for thousands #4

  1. Ash, that first line is wonderful.

    and I like this too –

    “in place of the old shop that used to sell
    music
    there’s another $2 store

    and I have to wonder if I’m interested
    in that sort of future” – it is a good question.

    and I think you should think that you can, you do. But it is only up to you to do the writing part. The reading part belong then to someone else. And so is also the healing part.

    Great.

    • Thank you! 🙂 I’m pretty happy with this one, even if it is a little downbeat.
      Excellent point abut the reading being for someone else, and hopefully the healing. It certainly feels like my favourite books to read can heal!

Leave a Reply

