A Newsletter is Born

After quite some time procrastinating I’ve finally finished setting up a newsletter for my writing!

I’ve been meaning to do so for a while now and I’m pretty pleased with the idea, I think it’ll allow me to provide meatier updates due to its quarterly frequency, without taking the place of my blogs, twitter etc and also encourages me to axe my Facebook author page.

I’m using MailChimp and I plan to offer news, giveaways and occasional previews of upcoming releases (poetry & fiction) with the newsletter – in fact, if you sign up by mid-Oct you’re in the running to win a copy of The Fairy Wren (e or print) which I really hope people enjoy!

So, if you’re keen, you can sign up over here πŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “A Newsletter is Born

  1. I’ve heard excellent benefits come with starting a newsletter-although I have yet to create one myself-I suppose I just don’t really see how it differs much from a blog post.

    • Hey Chris, thanks for visiting πŸ™‚

      Great question, I thought about it for a long time, as I’d heard the same as you but wasn’t sure what it offered the reader, and I think what I’ve come to decide is that I like the ‘digest’ aspect to it, especially if people happen to miss a post here or there. I follow so many folks now that I sometimes miss stuff.

  2. Subscribed!

    Been thinking about the efficacy of email as a communication/promotion tool lately – I’ve had some better results spreading the word about my books &c using email. I guess you and I have been thinking similar thoughts. MailChimp, hey? Hm….

    • Thanks, Adam! Let me know when you’ve got yours up and running πŸ™‚
      Yep, MailChimp seems to have some good customisable features, though I’m only using it at a basic level, I like it so far.

Leave a Reply

