between giants (a poem, not the collection)

I am slow of words
tired to speak them
mouth confetti-ed
making plausible
the unsurprising
with dull iron
wrapped, drawn
beneath eyes
no moondog, no
not at all, I’m thrilled
I’m thrilled and com-
pletely stopped
by his lament and
not even close to
keeping up with his
shadow, of course
I do not expect to:
I am rusted to chair
I am part of the class
I am between giants
I am lamp light
I am pots on ledges
I am blooming in-
doors with the scent
of rain crowding
glass and I am ever
having to repeat honey-
ed phrases to placate
tadpoles lining up
to be thrown into
the pond by my frail
hands.

 

(this one was going to be in the collection but I didn’t feel like it was strong enough to be the titular poem and so it never made it in at all in the end 🙂 )

2 thoughts on “between giants (a poem, not the collection)

Leave a Reply

