a long yesterday

the train clicked over sizzling rails when
I saw you in tall grass

a pink dress

speeding away

I saw you and thought of home

where the border was softer
and where you could slip into a long yesterday

___what a hole a dream leaves

I was a hawk as God’s arrow
my feathers left vapour trails

and far below
in the cobblestone square the shopkeepers smiled
and nodded and rested

and when we met
there was a heroic shiver of butterflies within me

leaves were always fluttering
___– you moved and I moved

the bones in your hand sung beneath flesh

10 thoughts on “a long yesterday

Leave a Reply

