VI – preview – each pale song

 

each pale song

your hair has grown deep
into the green stone of age

just as hills have grown between us
and oceans salt everything –
sunbathers
and their pastel umbrellas
get away with nothing here

and driftwood piles
in hours
heaped upon
what few memories I have gathered

even as my head spills them
in a dance of clouds,
torsos thin,
each pale song
a gouge in my chest

but it is simple enough:
I want you

and now the statues have turned all
shoulders
tear-drop smooth

and the polish of feet
across your body,
how many is it now?

your hands were so wide,
as if to rival Atlas
who was always just out of sight
who was slowly unfreezing
and whose pulse
was seismic
but who could not fit you
within his stern gaze

and I will forgive every stumble
each scratch
each sour bite you give
when ignored
and even, envy so great
as to rattle my very bones

but you hid so well,
caught,
suspended
between a breath
and the settling of night

your sweet face

I wonder
did you ever truly need to paint it?

your own voice grew young
in my listening
and
I leant against cool railings
and you called me back to see
secrets
that were everyone’s
but become ours
by the whispers I couldn’t fully unearth,
as crowds of automated eyes
pillaged you
as I myself would later do
as so many could not resist to do
and what I kept
could never satisfy

your immortality dried
as we worked,
great deserts in our fingertips
and dust in our kisses

and though I cannot feel more shame
knowing that I want more

at least when change came
thank god
you were not part of its neon creeping.

 

About 12 days to go until release of VI 😀

One thought on “VI – preview – each pale song

Leave a Reply

